Files
team/docs/main/end-user-guide/collaborate/collaborate-within-channels.mdx
bc56925599 feat(docs): move docs-experimental content into monorepo docs/ (#37330)
* feat(docs): move docs-experimental content into monorepo docs/

* Remove plan related files and comments

* Cleanup comments, remove generated files

---------

Co-authored-by: Hanzo Dev <[email protected]>
2026-07-02 18:42:57 +03:00

45 lines
4.4 KiB
Plaintext

---
title: "Collaborate within channels"
---
<PlanAvailability slug="all-commercial" />
Channels are where you connect, collaborate, and communicate with your team about various topics or projects. Use channels to organize conversations across different topics. as you're [sending messages](/end-user-guide/collaborate/send-messages), [replying to messages](/end-user-guide/collaborate/reply-to-messages), and [participating in conversation threads](/end-user-guide/collaborate/organize-conversations#start-or-reply-to-threads).
## You're added to default channels automatically
Everyone who joins a Mattermost [workspace](/end-user-guide/end-user-guide-index) is automatically added to the **Town Square** channel. See our [Channel Types](/end-user-guide/collaborate/channel-types) documentation for details.
<Note>
The Town Square channel can't be [archived](/end-user-guide/collaborate/archive-unarchive-channels#archive-a-channel) or [converted to a private channel](/end-user-guide/collaborate/convert-public-channels), and users can't [leave](/end-user-guide/collaborate/join-leave-channels#leave-a-channel) this default channel. However, [guests](/administration-guide/onboard/guest-accounts) who are manually invited to **Town Square** can leave the channel.
</Note>
## Channel sidebar
In the channel sidebar on the left, you'll find all of the the channels you're a member of as well as useful channel management tools. See the [channel types](/end-user-guide/collaborate/channel-types) to learn about the types of channels available, how they work, and how to identify them in the channel sidebar. Learn how to create channels by visiting the [create channels](/end-user-guide/collaborate/create-channels) documentation.
As your channel sidebar fills up with channels you've joined, you can organize your channels into categories based on how you work. See the [customize your channel sidebar](/end-user-guide/preferences/customize-your-channel-sidebar) documentation for details.
## Learn more
Learn more about collaborating within Mattermost channels:
- [Channel naming conventions](/end-user-guide/collaborate/channel-naming-conventions) - Learn why channel names are important.
- [Communicate a channel's focus and scope](/end-user-guide/collaborate/channel-header-purpose) - Learn how to communicate a channel's scope and focus.
- [Browse channels](/end-user-guide/collaborate/browse-channels) - Browse all available public channels you can join, and all channels you're a member of.
- [Join and leave channels](/end-user-guide/collaborate/join-leave-channels) - Learn how to start or stop being a channel member.
- [Make calls in Mattermost](/end-user-guide/collaborate/make-calls) - Learn how to start, join, and attend calls in Mattermost, as well as screen share.
- [Navigate between channels](/end-user-guide/collaborate/navigate-between-channels) - Learn how to navigate between channels.
- [Create channels](/end-user-guide/collaborate/create-channels) - Create channels to organize discussion by topic, project, or focus.
- [Rename a channel](/end-user-guide/collaborate/rename-channels) - Rename channels to make them more discoverable.
- [Display channel banners](/end-user-guide/collaborate/display-channel-banners) - Display a fixed banner at the top of channels to warn users about the presence of classified or sensitive information.
- [Auto-translate messages](/end-user-guide/collaborate/autotranslate-messages) - Automatically translate channel messages into your preferred language.
- [Convert public channels to private channels](/end-user-guide/collaborate/convert-public-channels) - Learn how to convert channel access and visibility.
- [Convert group messages to private channels](/end-user-guide/collaborate/convert-group-messages) - Learn how to convert group messages to private channels.
- [Manage channel members](/end-user-guide/collaborate/manage-channel-members) - Add and remove users from channels.
- [Mark channels as favorites](/end-user-guide/collaborate/favorite-channels) - Mark commonly visited channels as favorites.
- [Manage channel bookmarks](/end-user-guide/collaborate/manage-channel-bookmarks) - Manage quick access links or files pinned to the top of channels.
- [Mark channels as unread](/end-user-guide/collaborate/mark-channels-unread) - Mark channels unread to return to messages later.
- [Archive and unarchive channels](/end-user-guide/collaborate/archive-unarchive-channels) - Keep the number of available channels manageable.